NASSCOM Innovation Student Awards 2013 - Australia | NASSCOM
Home >

NASSCOM Innovation Student Awards 2013 - Australia

NASSCOM Australia Chapter aims to recognise young talent with the potential to develop into future leaders within the IT industry globally. Supported by the ICT Chapter of the Australia India Business Council (AIBC), Australian Computer Society (ACS), Australian Information Industry Association (AIIA) and CeBIT, with sponsors such as TCS, Wipro, Polaris and Advantage Wollongong, the awards aim to showcase the best of ICT talent within Australia.

ICT students from Universities across Australia are now invited to participate in the following award categories:

IT Technical Innovation – A broad category for any IT-related technical innovation, and encompasses new processes, innovative design, systems and device innovation

IT-enabled Business Innovation – Any innovative business application or process and could be systems based, cloud based or mobile. All submissions will be reviewed by a high-profile panel of judges from the technology and business sector. They will be looking for submissions ‘beyond a good idea’, showing depth of functionality and research to address each of the key criterion of innovation, performance and potential.

Submissions for NISA 2013 are now open, more details can be found on visit

The last day for submissions is Friday, April 26, 2013.

Previous Awards:

NASSCOM Innovation Student Awards (NISA) 2012

The inaugural NASSCOM Innovation Student Awards 2012 were presented at the CeBIT ICT Dinner and Awards night on May 23, 2012. Four IT students from leading universities in New South Wales were each presented with the Awards for excellence in innovation in the field of information technology. The awards were specifically tailored towards encouraging and supporting creative innovation in ICT students across universities in Australia. The 2012 awards were managed by Consensus, with Fragomen, Wipro and Advantage Wollongong coming on board as sponsors.

CeBIT is Australia’s largest ICT exhibition and conference forum, and has participants from the ICT industry worldwide. The ICT Awards night in 2012 was attended by over 700 special invitees from the industry and trade, Indian and Australian governments and other international delegates. The awards were presented by The Hon. Sachin Pilot, Minister of State in the Ministry of Communications and Information Technology, Government of India; The Hon Greg Pearce, Minister of Finance, NSW; Mr Paul Toole, MP and Parliamentary Secretary to the Deputy Premier and for Asia-Pacific Trade at the Sydney Convention & Exhibition Centre and Mr. Som Mittal, President, NASSCOM.

2012 NISA winning entries:

12 participants from six universities across New South Wales and Canberra presented in the two categories - IT Innovation and IT-enabled Business Innovation to a panel of 5 eminent judges from the ICT and Education sectors, and the corporate world. After deliberations, the 4 winning entries were:

1. University of Wollongong for the Compressed Sensing Imager, which can see through walls and opaque structures and can be used in surveillance and rescue missions;

2. University of NSWConfufish provides a ‘lite’ logistics solution for NGOs, who provide critical aid in quite difficult logistical areas;

3. University of SydneyMyPower Energy Management Platform gives consumers a complete view of their power consumption that can be deployed quickly and easily;

4. University of Western Sydney STEP ON IT PROGRAM is an eHealth solution that provides real time feedback on key health measurements. There is a growing need for innovation in countries like India and Australia to address the myriad challenges of new century with ever-changing technology. NASSCOM Australia chapter has initiated the awards for students in Australian universities to bring their talent into the limelight at CeBIT, in the presence of the industry’s most distinguished luminaries.

During the event, Mr. Mittal said, “It is our endeavour to encourage continuous development and innovation in countries our members operate in. I am extremely happy that our Australian chapter has taken the lead to launch this award”. Mr. Anu Agrawal, former Chairman of the NASSCOM Australia Chapter said “NASSCOM Australia Chapter recognises the high level of innovation from students of Australian universities, which are and ought to be the breeding ground of innovation in any country. The content and quality of the presentations to our judges were excellent and demonstrated many fine examples of originality."

The Awards, which will be presented annually, aim to recognise and award innovation in Australia’s Universities and are a great opportunity to showcase innovative solutions to the rest of the world.